converting gecom file

Our genealogy database program.

Moderator: Nick Hunter

Post Reply
pilgrim63
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2013 12:43 pm

converting gecom file

Post by pilgrim63 » Sat Nov 16, 2013 6:48 pm

I have had a change of computer and subsequently had to reload K&K and treedraw. Treedraw works ok but my main tree in K&K looks like a dropped plate of spaghetti, its going everywhere and nowhere.
I think it must have transferred as a gedcom file, how can I return it to its usual state without spending the next six weeks rearranging my tree area? Thanks in anticipation

Michael Duke

Nick Hunter
Posts: 646
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2005 9:36 am
Location: SpanSoft, Scotland
Contact:

Re: converting gecom file

Post by Nick Hunter » Sun Nov 17, 2013 9:11 am

Hi,

When you are exporting a GEDCOM file from K&KPro with the intention of importing it back into K&KPro, please make sure that you set the "Receiving system" option to Kith and Kin Pro instead of File. This will include all the K&KPro-specific data such as the position of family rectangles. http://kithkinpro.spansoft.org/manual/h ... export.php

There is no way of recovering the family rectangle position data if it has not been included in the GEDCOM file.

The other way to transfer your data is simply to copy the contents of the C:\KKPro3Data folder which stores all your databases.

Post Reply