Data location with multiple logical drives

Our genealogy database program.

Moderator: Nick Hunter

Post Reply
laschapas
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:48 am
Location: Derbyshire, UK

Data location with multiple logical drives

Post by laschapas » Fri Oct 09, 2009 4:56 pm

Hi Nick,

In answer to a second question under "Default UK timeline" about what directories must exist you replied on 27 May 2009:-

"That's correct both "C:\KKPro3data" and "My Documents\KKPro" folders must exist."

In preparation for Windows7 I have added multiple logical drives to my system. I would like to put all my Family History data on one drive. This would include all Kith&kinPro3 data but exclude the program. The drive would not be drive C:. My idea being to use each drive for one specific purpose to make backing up easier. I would like the above two directories to be moveable onto a drive other than C:. Is this possible now? If not can it be made possible in future patches? I am running Windows XP at the moment.

John Wood

Nick Hunter
Posts: 672
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2005 9:36 am
Location: SpanSoft, Scotland
Contact:

Post by Nick Hunter » Sat Oct 10, 2009 9:17 am

Hi,
Only the timeline data must be stored in C:\KKPro3Data. Your own databases can be stored anywhere. Beware of Vista's virtualization of data stored in sensitive folders such as C:\ and C:\Program files.

Post Reply