Updating Legacy Treedraw charts

TreeDraw Standard Edition and TreeDraw Legacy Edition; our genealogy charting software.

Moderator: Nick Hunter

Post Reply
graemeb
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 12:35 am

Updating Legacy Treedraw charts

Post by graemeb » Mon Nov 23, 2015 12:59 am

Hi,
I have a highly modified Legacy Treedraw chart which I want to add new data to. If I change data in the database, update text works fine for elements already on the chart. However, I have just added marriage details to a couple of people on the bottom of the chart and cannot work out how to get the chart to show the new data. Please tell me it is possible and that I don't have to create the tree from scratch again! Thanks. Graeme

Nick Hunter
Posts: 648
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2005 9:36 am
Location: SpanSoft, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Updating Legacy Treedraw charts

Post by Nick Hunter » Mon Nov 23, 2015 9:12 am

Hi,

Probably the easiest way is to add a new text element manually for the marriage details (it can contain any dummy text) and link it to the correct data in the Legacy database using "Format | Database link" http://treedrawlegacy.spansoft.org/manu ... t_link.php Then use "Edit | Update text" to import the actual marriage details.

The alternative is to open your existing chart then import a small tree consisting of just the couple you want to update. This can by done by setting the number of generations to import to zero http://treedrawlegacy.spansoft.org/manu ... ptions.php Then you would need to replace the existing info block for this couple with the new one. There's a video showing how to combine two trees at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_IZDxnHtJ6A

graemeb
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 12:35 am

Re: Updating Legacy Treedraw charts

Post by graemeb » Mon Nov 23, 2015 11:14 pm

Hi Nick,
Thanks for that. I tried the first method, but while I can get the text updated OK, the names are not bold and there is the problem of font attributes applying to all the text ie all bold or none bold, not just selected text. I tried adding two text elements to overcome this but it became unwieldy trying to get it all right and the text positioned and linked.

The import tree method worked like a dream - all the text formatted correctly and nicely linked together - took about 30 seconds!

Incidentally, is it possible to have different formatting for part of a block of text? It is nice sometimes to highlight something e.g. a name.

Graeme

Post Reply